Texas Liquor Laws You Ought To Know

Texas liquor laws vary from county to county and understanding these laws can be quite a challenge. Most of these laws are liberal and conservative and at most times tend to conflict as stated by one lawyer at Monshaugen & Van Huff, P.C.. Before delving into the laws, it is worth noting that over 50 counties in Texas prohibit alcohol sales. They are referred to as ‘dry counties’. There are laws that restrict when and where different types of alcohol can be sold. For example, in some counties, beer can be bought in restaurants but not in stores while in other counties beer can be sold in stores but not wine.

Depending on the type of establishment, whether a club/restaurant, convenience store/grocery store or a package/liquor store, purchasing of alcohol is limited to specific hours and type of alcohol. Let’s take a look at some of the notable Texas liquor laws.

Image result for Liquor stores are permitted to sell liquor Monday to Saturday

Laws Regarding Minimum Age

In order to buy alcohol in Texas, you have to be at least 21 years of age. However, for those below 21 years, the law permits them to drink but in the presence of a parent, guardian or spouse aged at least the legal minimum drinking age of 21.

If you are 18 years of age, you are permitted to tend a bar or an on-site drinking venue. If you are at least 16 years, then you can sell beer and wine in stores. However, for those who intend to sell liquor in liquor stores, they must be at least 21 years old.

Alcohol Sale Laws

As discussed above, alcohol can only be sold to people above 21 years.

Liquor can only be bought from liquor stores. This means that convenience stores and grocery stores are not permitted to deal with any distilled spirits, only beer, and wine. From Monday to Friday, licensed businesses are allowed to sell beer and wine from 7 a.m. to midnight. On Saturdays, they can sell from 7 a.m. to 1 a.m. Sunday morning. On Sundays, they can sell beer and wine from noon to midnight.

Liquor stores are permitted to sell liquor Monday to Saturday from 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. Liquor stores should remain closed on Sundays, Thanksgiving, Christmas day and New Year’s Day.

Bars and restaurants are allowed to sell alcohol on Sundays from 10 a.m. only if it is served in conjunction with food. On normal occasions, bars and restaurants are limited to selling alcohol until midnight on weekdays and until 1 a.m. on Saturdays, however, with a late-night permit, they can sell alcohol for on-venue consumption until 2 a.m.